Wake Up, Plan, Conquer 

This my motto for the week. ☺️ I struggled with staying positive about my work for a long time. That struggle turned into laziness and laziness is the gateway to downward habits that get me no where with my dreams. Here’s a watercolor snippet from my current art journal entry. 

  The laziness that almost took over had me questioning ALL of my decisions at one point. I was bringing in promising clients and would go all out with designs and concept sketches just to get: “Oh, I love them! I’ll let you know which one I want soon.” but ‘soon’ sometimes, wouldn’t come. It bothered me. I spent time to create and get nothing back? That can’t be fair. What if… 

“Am I doing the right thing?” “Maybe people don’t like my illustrations…” “I hope my family doesn’t suffer because of me.” 

All bad thoughts… 

Then one day, a few weeks ago, I had to stop those questions in my head and remind myself WHY I started in the first place. It wasn’t to be popular. It wasn’t to be rich. I started because I love to draw. Always have. Remembering something so simple, was the kind of wake up call I needed to stop the downward spiral of laziness that would only lead to giving up – something I’ve never done before.

   So I made my dream a priority again. I wake up early, meditate and have my coffee. Then, even if I don’t have an idea yet, I work. It’s getting easier to not overthink during my ‘conquer’ phase. Without those thoughts, I can’t talk myself out of anything. It’s a great feeling. 

   I continue to share my work. Not for others, but for myself. If I let my love and graditude show in my work, others will see that love and some will be compelled to reach out to me. That’s where the finance fun will truely begin. All in all, my faith is stronger than my fears. 

                                          Light and Love

Leave a comment